Exiting the Catholic Faith


Lately I have observed that I have been praying more often and more intimately. But to whom exactly?

Not so long ago (3 to 4 months back), I have fully renounced the tenets of the Roman Catholic faith because I found that it has not been fully communicating the truth to me. I don’t want to admit it, but my constant brawl with the Dominican friars in college led to my souring belief in the Roman Catholic Church. They preach one thing, but do the other. The Dominican friars, particularly this renegade and obscenely stupid College Regent from a Dominican-run University, preaches humility but is nothing but the opposite of it; preaches consensus but divides people; and preaches prudence but practices the antonym. All of these, including all the other bitter experiences I had, led me to leave the Roman Catholic faith.

And now I continue to search the faith that reveals the truth and practices what it preaches and leads its flock towards true salvation — knowledge and empowerment. But now, I’m still in the process of finding the right denomination for me. And this month of November, I want to try out and listen to teachings of various religions.

But not withstanding  what I said, I believe that human spirituality is something sole to onself… Believe it or not, I still pray to St. Jude for hopeless cases. I believe what I choose to believe and what works for me.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

