Reflections.


On a lighter note…

It’s almost three years since my great love passed away (December 27, 2007 to be exact) and a lot has already happened in my life. I have been in an on-off legal battle with the university, suffered two massive strokes (one led to the paralysis of my left extremity, the other led to the decline of my eyesight), and a crushing electoral defeat for a city council seat. Three years back, I thought I would just make crap out of myself, living a dull life and will never have the taste of life the way I (or me and Miguel) would’ve wanted. And I always thought I had.

But reflection taught me that my life has been fine, though Miguel’s presence lingers in one part of my mind, the rest of it had moved on. I have engaged in social work, ran for public office, made tons of friends, and tried to initiate change where change is alien. Contrary to my first thoughts of a futile life, I may have actually made sense of my existence.

But in times like this that I need reality checks, I miss Miguel all the more.

===

Please take time to read these blogs. They’re a good read:

The Professional Heckler – http://professionalheckler.wordpress.com

Sven Herpig’s Blog – http://herpig.de

Peace.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

