Office Politics in Politics


I came from a very long staff briefing in MIni Stop Rob Junction where I had to listen to an almost endless litany of personal conflicts among my immediate campaign staffers. All of these had to be resolved especially that we are in the last nine days of the campaign period. And a big bulk of these conflicts can be attributed to nothing more but “office politics”.

Management of people is way more complicated than what’s seen on the surface. It entails a lot of management skills, a very patient ear, and a very cool head. Especially in a typical campaign day; unlike a day in the office, a campaign day is usually spent outdoors with emotions on the table and with heads very hot. That’s why I make it a point to become a more patient listener and an efficient problem solver when the going gets tough.

Politicians have no room to meddle in office politics; we have better things to do and we have a very packed schedule to finish. The heat is so on and I just don’t have the time to deal with those concerns. I told my staff to become more efficient in dealing with the challenges of the campaign and put aside negative emotions, hatred and anger… I told them “gutom lang yan” (that’s just hunger).

Thanks to the people from Sitio Victoria from actually taking time to listen to my platform. Their positive feedback is a clear indication that my campaign’s on the right track.

Peace. Hafta sleep. Long, long schedule tomorrow.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

