Rights and Wrongs


I was wrong. Very, very wrong.

When I first signed up to be LAKAS-KAMPI-CMD’s official candidate for councilor here in Cainta, I assumed that my candidacy would be judged based on the opinion on PGMA, the most notable party member. It would not be invalid to reason that way; since the head of the party, the current president, has her survey ratings at an all-time low, has been in the midst of insurmountable political opposition, and has been in power long enough to gain the distaste of once staunch supporter. But because of my strong belief that PGMA did an amazing job, and my candidacy would not be up to my own standards should I not be part of the Christian Muslim Democrats, I have bravely signed up. And official candidate I became.

When I first had a meal with my close cousin and discussed who she was voting for president, she expressed her dislike over PGMA, the Chair Emeritus of CMD, our party. But, to my surprise, she said that after seeing GIBO on TV and in fora around (she is a med student), she is confused about either voting for Noynoy (her initial bet) and GIBO (her bet on the rise). The only thing that held her back was GIBO’s association with the president; so was her reservation about my candidacy. But this died down soon after.

When I first went around my town introducing myself, I can’t help but be initially frightened to be part of the administration’s roster of candidates because of seemingly indelible notions on this administration which proved painful even if untrue.

It may be true that PGMA is the biggest “baggage” that administration candidates bear (which I think is unfair), GIBO has proven to be the candidate who made it disappear altogether.

GIBO’s constructive campaign prepup reminded the people that the 2010 elections are not about those who are seated now, but about those who are to sit in the future. GIBO’s campaign reminded all of us that the 2010 candidates must be judged on their own merit, and not on the merit of their predecessor. GIBO’s campaign reminded all of us that we must not judge candidates based on who is prominent in the party strata, but how they forward the party’s agenda and translate it into tangible programs felt by the people.

When GIBO’s mouth first opened, we almost completely forgot his association with GMA. GIBO is his own man; with his own government program and vision of the future. GIBO deviates from the traditional way of politics, where men hang onto whatever’s to be left behind by the ones before them.

And with the decision of sticking it through with LAKAS-KAMPI-CMD, and GIBO.

I was right. Very, very right.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

