Spectacle


This evening is one of the most interesting evenings (BY FAR) of my campaign. In one gathering in Kabisig Elementary School, Bgy. San Andres, I attended an oath-taking ceremony together with PB Willy Felix (Nacionalista Party Mayoralty candidate), Vice Mayor Atoy Sicat (NPC Vice Mayoralty Candidate), Ace Servillon (NP Candidate for Councilor), Jojo Pagkatipunan (Independent Candidate for Councilor), myself (LAKAS-KAMPI-CMD candidate for Councilor), Pia Velasco (NPC Candidate for Councilor) and the Board Members. For a community whose aim was to have fun, the night was a political spectacle.

I met children studying at the Kabisig Elementary School and I really had fun getting to meet them and their parents. For me, though it was a night where I had to sell myself and make myself known to candidates, it was an evening to get to know my constituents heart to heart; meet them at the place where the action happens.

I promised that I will attend a flag ceremony at their school to get to meet their classmates, as well as their teachers and teaching staff so I can get to know personally the lives of public schoolchildren, having not being one myself.

Knowing the context of things is necessary in effective crafting of legislation. This is why I will try to make it a point to visit schools and other institutions in town, have coffee in sari-sari stores, and be actively participating in the lives of my fellow citizens. After all, if I get elected, then their lives are at stake; their lives are directly affected by my views.

Later today I will be attending flag rites in Bgy. San Juan and have an audience with PB Felix to discuss matters in his barangay, my barangay. This shall be followed by a meeting with the party. I hope I get enough stamina to perform well in my on-the-spot exams in Life Painting 2 and Composition 3B. Oh well.

Peace.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

