Chronicle of a Young, Neophyte, Broke Candidate


It’s true. Not all candidates float in a sea of money.

For neophyte candidates like me who are unaided by the unlimited financial ammunitions of the government, the campaign gets increasingly difficult as it goes uphill. Take into account the numerous town hall meetings you have to attend (and sponsor), the several functions you have to attend, and the seemingly endless cry for help by constituents through letter or personal visits, the campaign boils down to how financially buoyant a candidate is.

It sometimes is frustrating to be left broke after an evening of rounds. If before you end up spending a cozy evening enjoying a cup of gourmet coffee, now you end up at home chugging in a cup of instant coffee (with sugar, if lucky), busting your head off thinking of survival the next day. At day, you continue the battle once again, going around and solidifying forces to ensure your electoral victory. But at the end of the day, in a game where uncertainty is the only sure thing, money becomes the true deciding factor of victory or demise.

But money is not the everything of politics, though many politicians cling onto them like the last rescue rope for salvation. I still continue to believe that nothing beats platform, personality, and powerful impact. Amid the news of my opponents flooding various areas with financial help and money to entice voters to vote on their favor, I try my best to attract them with platform — with a solid basis to vote for me than voting for me just because I, directly or indirectly, paid his vote.

It’s January 10 today which makes election day exactly four months away. The campaign’s just so damn long. We have to keep up with the pace, of which I think I’m achieving. But at 4 months away from the polls, I think I have to begin focusing on inching little by little away forward from the pack, and establishing my own politics.

Oh well, here I am, still young, still new, and still broke.

Peace. It’s Miguel’s BDAY today, may be rest in it.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

