182 Days Left to COC Filing; be a Team JC Volunteer!


(Note: For those who want to help in my 2010 municipal councilorship campaign, please do not hesitate to e-mail jcmovement@hotmail.com or contact us at 0916-265-6661 or 0932-240-3056. You must be a citizen of Cainta to become a volunteer.)

It’s June 1 and in a few months, those who intend to run for public office in the 2010 national and local elections will file their certificates of candidacy. It will be 182 days from now; perhaps 3 national surveys will be conducted within this time period, as well as several TV and radio reports of nationwide sorties of presidentiables, vice presidentiables, and senatoriables. Within this timeframe, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo will deliver her 9th and last State of the Nation Address (SONA) where she may be discussing the legacy she intends to leave to our country. With these things happening, 182 days will be very brief.

There are a lot of things that have to be done in my campaign. With 182 days left until the filing, I have to continue on going around town introducing myself to voters just as traditional politicians do. I have some activities in line, which I hope would come to reality with the help of some kind people to finance them. I will continue to hold meetings with various sectors, their leaders and members, to discuss viable policy directions should I eventually win the elections. I have to attend to some fundraising efforts of my campaign, as well as that of the party (whichever party it may be). All of these things squeezed in a 182-day timeframe. Add to that my class schedule.

What keeps me going despite all these challenges? It is the sight of the reality that beleaguers our town today, a reality marred by a government that can be improved a thousandfold. It is the thought that for once, someone actually takes the initiative to change rather than just complaining. It is the sense of responsibility that someone must take action rather than wait for someone else to do it. Those things keep me on despite all the hardship I am ncountering as I trudge through the murky realities of public life.

My campaign begins today at ground zero. Zero founds, zero supporters, zero everything; yet, we are full. I, together with some friends, are full of passion in seeing this campiagn through no matter what obstacles may come. We believe that, in order for us to see the change we want to see, we have to be the CHANGE we want to see. We have to be participative and critical citizens.

Today is June 1, 182 days before the filing of certificates of candidacy. And in every single day of it, I will be needing your help – may it be through donations of money, or of effort; or may it be for wishes of good luck or sincerely said prayers, I will need all of it. After all, no man, or politician, is an island.

Peace.

P.S.: If you are at least 18 years old, a registered voter, and a resident of Cainta, Rizal, please be part of Team JC. Please e-mail your full name, address, and contact information at jcmovement@hotmail.com with subject line: TEAM JC. We will get back to you at the soonest possible time.

About carlomasajo
I am a 21 year old Fine Arts student from the University of Santo Tomas trying to help this nation become a better one.

Leave a Reply

